Friday, November 22, 2013

Bill Spain Wins 2013 George Warren Fuller Award

 The Minnesota section of the American Water Works Association is proud to present to the winner of the 2013 "George Warren Fuller Award". This year’s winner is Bill Spain, the water environmental technologies instructor at St. Cloud Technical and Community College. Spain was presented the award at the Minnesota Section’s annual meeting where he was recognized for his distinguished service to the water supply field.

Partick Shea, Bill Spain, Matthew Keil
(MN AWWA Past Chair, Award Winner, Dean of Trades & Industry - St. Cloud Technical College)

Sound engineering skill, brilliant diplomatic talent, and constructive leadership are a few of the many traits that have allowed Spain to contribute to MN AWWA’s success. As a committee member, Spain is known for going above and beyond what is expected of him. His performance reflects his exceptional character and work ethic.

Spain has committed his life to the water industry - he has provided over thirty years of excellent service to the water industry and over twenty years of equally excellent service to the St. Cloud Technical and Community College. As an educator, Bill taught and inspired students of all ages in the realm of water and wastewater operations. Bill is also a long-time member of the AWWA and has served on a number of committees. His work on the section board as a District Trustee, Section Chair, and Section Director helped create awareness and solve problems for Minnesota’s water industry.

To visit MN AWWA's Facebook page, click here.
For more info on the George Warren Fuller Award, click here.

George W. Fuller

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Eaton Gains Prestigious AWWA Honor

The “Leonard N. Thompson” Award was created in memoriam of the two-time American Water Works Association (AWWA) president. Annually bestowed to a Minnesota Section member, the award is designed to honor someone whose longevity, community service, and service to the water industry rivals the memories of Thompson’s impact.

Past Chair Bert Tracy, Awardee Jon Eaton, Current Chair Steve Schneider

This year the honor went to Jon Eaton, an extraordinary AWWA member and water utility businessman. For nearly twenty years, his leadership roles have branched through the water supply industry. Now Superintendent of Utilities for the city of Eagan, Eaton’s journey included an eighteen-year relationship with the waters of Bloomington, Minnesota, where he was Water Quality Supervisor. Eaton also served on the Minnesota Section Executive Board as Secretary and Treasurer (he will be the 2014 Section Director), the national AWWA Finance and Section Services Committees, Suburban Utilities Superintendent Association (SUSA) executive board, and the Minnesota Department of Health “Environmental Health Knowledge Management Project”.

Eaton’s experience in environmental science dates back thirty years and received a jumpstart at the University of Minnesota, where he graduated from the Institute of Technology with a Bachelor of Chemistry. Since then he has polished his stormwater management skills and civil engineering techniques and has gained an unrivaled handle on municipalities.

Eaton’s success is likely due to his determination to realize lifelong passions. According to the October 15, 2013 Minnesota AWWA “News Release”, the 2013 awardee enjoys “helping others and promoting public health, safety, and welfare through the improvement of water and public infrastructure”.

It is clear that the Eaton embodies what the “Leonard N. Thompson” award aims to honor. Once again, congratulations to Jon Eaton. Thank you for your decades of community service. Thank you for creating awareness for AWWA and helping moving the water supply industry forward.

For more info on the Minnesota section of AWWA, click here.
For more info on AWWA national, click here.

Feel free to share your thoughts and questions in the comment section below.